TL;DR
Get pet supplies delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
A Pets Plus magazine profile describes how Crossbones Dog Academy, founded in Providence in 2010, grew from a dog-walking and private-training business into an 8,000-square-foot facility. Owners Katherine Ostiguy and Daniel Lombard offer training, daycare and retail, with puppy education as the academy’s leading program.
Crossbones Dog Academy, a dog-training and daycare business in Providence, Rhode Island, is the subject of a Pets Plus magazine profile detailing its expansion from a small service business into an 8,000-square-foot facility. Owners Katherine Ostiguy and Daniel Lombard founded the business in 2010; it now offers training, daycare and pet-product retail.
The academy began as Spring Forth Dog Services, offering dog walking and private training. In 2015, Ostiguy and Lombard introduced Puppy Day School, a structured program combining training and socialization. The business adopted the Crossbones Dog Academy name and moved to its current warehouse facility in 2018, according to the magazine profile.
The report lists one location, 8,000 square feet and five full-time employees. Its services include group and private lessons, behavior consultations, agility classes, daycare and rental access to a training hall. The profile says the business’s year-to-date revenue split was 55% training, 34% daycare and 11% retail; it does not identify the year or provide overall revenue figures.
Puppy Day School is described as the company’s leading program: a four-week course with weekday daytime care, playgroups, individual training sessions, rest and potty breaks. Participants receive weekly private conferences and report cards, as well as access to Flex Classes, where owners can work with dogs around distractions. The academy also sells dog food, treats, chews, supplements and enrichment products.
Training Anchors the Business
The profile shows how Crossbones combines professional training with daytime care and retail, rather than relying on a single service. For local dog owners, that means the academy’s programs range from early puppy education to ongoing manners classes, behavior support and agility practice. The published revenue breakdown also indicates that training is the largest of its three reported business categories, though the source gives no sales totals or comparison with earlier years.
Ostiguy says the academy centers its work on positive reinforcement, using treats and toys to reward desired behavior and help change dogs’ responses to situations they find difficult. That description is the owners’ account of their approach; the profile does not independently evaluate program outcomes or report measured results for clients.
dog training treats for positive reinforcement
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From Dog Walking to Academy
Ostiguy said her interest in training began as a teenager, when she attended lessons with her family’s English Springer Spaniel. She later completed the Karen Pryor Academy Dog Trainer Professional program, graduating with distinction, according to the profile. Lombard studied marine biology and said he became involved in dog activities after the pair began dating.
The founders started small, with a longer-term goal of establishing a dedicated facility. The 2015 launch of Puppy Day School preceded the 2018 move into the current warehouse and the Crossbones rebrand. The academy’s lobby includes an 800-square-foot retail area, with products such as chews, enrichment toys and frozen food, the report says. Its group-class registration system has been online since 2017, allowing customers to register, cancel, reschedule and join waitlists through the website.
““We’re driven by the belief that early socialization, consistent training, and regular physical and mental enrichment are the keys to bringing out the best in any dog.””
— Katherine Ostiguy, co-owner of Crossbones Dog Academy, as quoted by Pets Plus magazine
Business Figures Lack a Timeframe
The profile does not state its publication date, and it describes the revenue shares as year-to-date without naming the year. It also does not provide sales totals, explain how the revenue mix has changed, or give independently verified measures of training outcomes. The source identifies the facility’s size and staffing but does not report enrollment, daily capacity or the number of dogs served.
The article presents the owners’ descriptions of their services and training philosophy. It does not include customer interviews, outside assessments or responses from animal-behavior professionals. Those omissions limit what can be concluded about the academy’s performance beyond the details reported about its offerings and operations.
Programs Continue at One Site
The source describes Crossbones as operating at one Providence location and does not announce a new site, expansion or upcoming major change. Its listed services include ongoing puppy and educational daycare programs, group manners classes, behavior consultations, private lessons and agility training.
Readers seeking current schedules, class availability, pricing or business figures would need to check the academy directly; the profile does not provide those details or specify a next milestone. The report’s account establishes the business’s development and service mix, while its current operating plans beyond that remain unreported.
Key Questions
Where is Crossbones Dog Academy?
The profile places the academy in Providence, Rhode Island, and lists one location.
When was Crossbones Dog Academy founded?
Owners Katherine Ostiguy and Daniel Lombard founded the business in 2010, initially operating as Spring Forth Dog Services.
What is Puppy Day School?
According to the profile, it is a four-week puppy program combining weekday daytime care, playgroups, individual training, rest periods and weekly private conferences with owners.
What training services does Crossbones offer?
The report lists group manners classes, private lessons, behavior consulting, Reactive Recovery, agility classes and access to a training hall for practice.
The profile gives a year-to-date split of 55% training, 34% daycare and 11% retail. It does not specify the year or publish total revenue.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
